Distraction can lead to great things #Minecraft

Details of Minecraft Club - pdf created by Nathaniel Bott

Details of Minecraft Club – pdf created by Nathaniel Bott

In mid August I attended the Code Club Australia teacher training at East Launceston Primary School. I mentioned in a post that reflected on the day that I was a little distracted. Well I was a lot distracted! But that didn’t mean that I was totally detached from what was going on. Rather, I was building on ideas to support an outcome. Code Club Australia’s teacher training is designed to support teachers in setting up code clubs. This has certainly taken off in the Catholic Ed space here in Tasmania. But for me running a Scratch club didn’t really interest. I was looking at the resources more for use in the classroom rather than an external club.

Yet this is where ideas collide and why distraction is not always a bad thing. I was distracted by other things that I had seen and discussed while on my travels during my recent Hardie Fellowship. In the USA there is a big focus on after school clubs, there are lots of reasons for this and I don’t intend to discuss them here, but the idea is more the point. Then speaking to Margaret Meijers at the STE(A)M conference regarding an after school club she was running, started me thinking of possibilities regarding a past student who was significant to the Minecraft class that we have run at Riverside High School since 2012. So the Code Club Australia teacher training enabled the ideas and concepts floating around in my head to be pulled together. It allowed me to consider more deeply the concept of an after school club.

With my sketchy ideas in place I flicked my ideas to Nathaniel Bott and then approached James Riggal via the Innovation Circle. This has led to a range of further discussions to set up the Minecraft Club supported by Definium Technologies and the Queen Victorian Museum and Art Gallery. This club is Nathaniel’s baby, I am only there as support for him. You see he has been involved in a voluntary basis with a number of Minecraft initiatives and supporting a young person to make their passion into something that provides returns for them was essentially my goal. I personally believe volunteering is a wonderful thing, I also believe there is a point at which real worth is not supported through volunteering and the next step needs to be taken. His time, energy, skill and expertise need acknowledgement in a manner that supports him further.

Information about the Minecraft Club and sign up details can be found here:

http://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/minecraft-club-at-the-battery-shed-tickets-19199492198

3 Comments

  1. Shared on Twitter! Coolness.

  1. […] In mid August I attended the Code Club Australia teacher training at East Launceston Primary School. I mentioned in a post that reflected on the day that I was a little distracted. Well I was a lot…  […]

  2. […] use as the vehicle for young people to get together and explore so much more. I blogged about this here, here and here. This has now grown and I have stepped away. The link to follow the journey will be […]

Leave a Reply

