Things are a changing here :)

If you have been reading my blog over the last couple of years you will note that it has had a significant connection to Minecraft. Minecraft has taught me a lot, well actually it is the students that I have worked with, in class and online, that have taught me a lot as a result of using Minecraft. This learning has led me to take a slight diversion, a new journey that will begin on June 4, when I leave Tasmania to start my adventure as a Hardie Fellow (Info re Hardie Fellowship and recipients for 2013-14).

Before I can start my year of self determined learning, a term spoken about in the book Open by David Price, I need to get organised for the adventure. One of the things that I have been thinking about lately is what do I pack… I have become a much better packer over the years, but I have never packed for a trip that is longer than 2 months. So off to get some advice from my PLN I go, my PLN is a central focus of my Fellowship as is educational technology (ok, yes gaming, just didn’t want to be too obvious or appear too narrow). I love my PLN, it is a wonderful resource, encourages learning and stretches my thinking. To get some packing advice I contacted a couple of past students of mine, one who is currently in China and the other who has just returned from a semester in Switzerland. Both of them have given me some great information to think about through reflecting on their own experiences. So as a result I will be focussing on limiting the shoe collection that I will take, you can always buy more shoes! I will check on any medication that I need. Other than that I will pack my favourite clothes and of course the laptop, iPad and iPhone. The other limitation I need to stick within is the two bags of no more than 23kg each – I think I can handle that 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Sounds like quite an adventure. I hope to follow your inquiry as you move ahead.
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

