Minecraft requires a role change in our classroom

This TED Talk might superficially seem unrelated to Minecraft. However, the peer to peer learning, social learning and role change of the teacher that is discussed is paramount to how we (the students and I) run our Minecraft class. I have not set up any tutorials re how to play, I have not set up the server with specific plugins. The students do all this. They learn together, teach each other and create. Sometimes I feel a bit redundant but my role is significantly different in this class and possibly more strategic. I am required to support their learning, learn with them and ask those important ‘grandma questions’. I have to provide the scaffolding to enable them to build a learning community. 🙂

Leave a Reply

