PLN – something I have learnt… Flip Learning

One of the wonderful things about a PLN is that you are constantly coming across new ideas or old ideas re-invented that encourage you to think.

Recently I came across The Khan Academy and found it quite interesting. This wasn’t the concept that challenged me or made me think differently initially, as I thought of it as a handy tool. What started to make me think was the way those in my PLN were starting to use it, with the concept of flip learning being tossed around.

My understanding of Flip Learning so far is where students watch the videos from The Khan Academy at home for home work. This is the direct teaching of the subject matter. In class time the teacher then runs the lesson more like a tutorial and a place where what was seen as traditional homework takes place. The aim of this is to provide students with an expert to support them when they are applying the concepts that have been presented. From the conversations I observe this appears to be something that is being used in the area of maths.

I do find areas of this challenging and consequently am still forming my own view on this, some if these areas include:

Equity – how do you cater for those that don’t have access at home?
Differentiation – are there examples of how this has been incorporated?
Concept of home work – responses from students, what are their thoughts? What is the impact on a lesson if the videos have not been watched?
Parents – how are they responding to this?

The thing I like most about this concept is it is tuning into using technology the way students like to use it. It is asking students to complete a task that does not require extra help regarding the concepts, as they are receiving direct teaching at that particular moment. They can wrestle with their understanding of it in class later.

6 Comments

  1. Maree Pinnington says:

    Flip Learning ! A very interesting concept. Maybe it opens up more scope to focus on higher order thinking by allowing the students to apply their knowledge they learn at home, in class. Often our time is spent delivering the skill and or knowledge and little time to focus on these higher “Blooms taxonomies” Does flip learning allow us more time to explore this notion?

  2. dbatty1 says:

    Yes, I have to agree. The more I think about this the more I am liking the idea of using it as it then allows for so much more to occur in class time.

  3. I’m beginning to use Khan Academy across my three maths classes. I have one student who does not have internet access, in fact, there is not even a computer in the home.

    Flip learning will really suit the learning style of some students, no question. May be tricky to apply it to everyone, especially those who tend not to take responsibility for their own learning.

    Younger students love Khan for the Badges and Energy points, older students really appreciate the videos.

    • dbatty1 says:

      Yes, taking responsibility for ones learning does make you think a little in regard to this concept. Not to mention the home access.

      Do you think that this idea would possibly allow for individual differentiation, especially in regard to those high fliers in the class?

  4. Absolutely – starting to run out of excuses as far as extending students is concerned.

  5. Maree Pinnington says:

    Makes me think about how we can apply this to other learning areas? Wish there was a version of Khan Academy for English? Maybe there is but I haven’t explored enogh yet.

Leave a Reply

